Turtle’s Top Ten: Best Horror Movies

Happy Halloween guys! I haven’t written a top ten post in a while so why not write two? (Part two will be up in a few days)

I love Horror movies so much I’ve seen great ones, mediocre ones and awful ones. In this post I will be listing my top ten best horror movies.

orphan

10. Orphan (2005)- A husband and wide adopt a 9 year old who isn’t as sweet and innocent as she appears to be.

I remember when I first watched Orphan I was left in awe (I was 15) it was one of the first horror movies I had ever seen and this movie birthed my love for horror/thrillers absolutely brilliant.

would you rather

9. Would You Rather (2012)- Iris accepts an invitation to a dinner party to earn money for her sick brother, she unknowingly joins a deadly game of would you rather.

Such an underrated movie – there’s gore, thrills and an interesting concept.

I need to find another movie similar to this because I enjoyed this one so much and wish I could erase my mind and watch it for the first time again.

US

8. US (2019)- A family’s vacation is interrupted when their doppelgangers begin to terrorise them.

I can’t believe this movie came out this year, this has been the longest year ever but the year has also gone by super fast which makes zero sense.

Jordan Peele is such an amazing film writer and director. What I love about his movies are the little easter eggs he plants throughout the duration of the movie which you don’t usually notice until you watch a second time which makes the movie even more amazing because you understand the symbolism.

I was confused throughout most of the movie BUT when I actually figured out what was going on I was hooked and completely amazed, if you like psychological movies please watch this movie.

img_1776

7. Parents (1989)- A young boy living in the 50’s suspects his parents of being cannibals.

Horrors from the 80’s just do it right, this movie is creepy and funny all at the same time, if you don’t like incredibly jumpy horror movies then this is probably the movie for you -it’s creepy but not in a clique way.

Carrie-Featured

6. Carrie (1976)- Carrie White is a shy teenage girl with an overly religious mother, Carrie discovers she has telekinesis an uses it to seek revenge on her bullies.

Carrie was actually the first horror movie I had ever watched, I remember watching it late at night with my sister and being terrified.

The 1976 version is the only version I will actively acknowledge, no one can play Carrie White as well as Sissy Spacek she was perfect for this role, she adds the creepiness to the movie.

You feel sorry for Carrie as well as being scared by her, one of my favourite Stephen King movies.

IT

5. IT (2017)- Children start to go missing in the summer of 1989, Bill and his friends band together to defeat Pennywise a clown who shape-shifts into the things they fear the most.

I haven’t actually seen the original IT fully but I have seen clips and I’m gonna be real with you chief: it doesn’t look good, I mean this is coming from someone who is used to CGI and special effects so I can understand why the original was scary to people when it first came out.

This remake however (in my opinion): is great. I don’t scare easily nowadays but if I watched this at 15/16 I would’ve been TERRIFIED, (I was scared of everything as a child to the point where I’m mostly desensitised now) I still haven’t watched the sequel and I’m dying to because I need to see the losers club grown up.

A QUIET PLACE

4. A Quiet Place (2018)- A family is forced to live in silence as they hide from monsters who are sensitive to sound.

I have so much love for this movie. I didn’t even want to eat my snacks in the cinema because I was afraid I’d be too loud, the theatre was so quiet it reminded me of my group chat when I say anything.

Such a unique premise and John Krasinski done a brilliant job at directing, I can not wait for the sequel.

happy-death-day-2u-trailer3. Happy Death Day 2U (2019)- This movie follows Ryan Phan, a college student reliving his day over and over again dying each time until he finds his killer, a lot like what happened to Tree in the first movie.

It’s rare that sequels are better than the original, Happy Death Day 2U is an exception – there was an incredible number of twists and turns in this movie compared to the first movie, it’s like groundhogs day meets scream, I love it.

Get-Out-movie

2. Get Out (2017)- Christ meets his white girlfriend’s parents for the weekend for the first time, an awkward visit turns unsettling when Chris discovers the reason why he was invited.

If you’ve seen Get Out do yourself a favour and watch it again, you will find the easter eggs Jordan Peele plants and you’ll have a greater appreciation for this already amazing work of art.

i-know-what-you-did-last-summer-gets-tv-reboot-with-aquaman-director__967288_

1. I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)- Four friends accidentally ran someone over and disposed of the body, a year later they are stalked by someone who knows what they done last summer.

This movie is so incredibly 90’s I mean just look at the cast, Sarah Michelle Geller, Jennifer Love Hewitt, Freddie Prinze Jr and Ryan Phillipe – the perfect cast.

I’ve said this before but masked murder horror movies are my absolute favourite not only do you get horror and thriller but you also get a mystery. I feel like there are two people in this world: Scream fans or I Know What You Did Last Summer fans, Scream is a great movie don’t get me wrong but my heart belongs to I Know What You Did Last Summer. 

Horror movies bring me so much joy, they don’t scare me as such but I love gore, mystery and thrills and each movie from this list has one of these traits.

Top ten worst horror movies coming soon…

Leave a comment