Movies I’ve Watched This Year: June

This has been the strangest month this year, I’ll most likely talk about the shit storm that is my life in a separate post some other time because I really went through it this month. That being said; somehow through all the shenanigans I managed to watch a few movies that I’m excited to talk about, so let’s talk about them.

The Fighting Temptations (2003)- Darren Hill fired from his job as a New York advertising executive travels back to his hometown in the south to collect his late auntie’s inheritance, Darren has to enter his auntie’s choir in a competition and win to earn the inheritance, so he sets out to recruit and lead a choir to success.

I have not seen this movie in about 10 years, we had this movie on dvd my auntie borrowed it and we never got the dvd back. I love this movie if church was like this I’d go every week because the music sounds like something you’d hear on the radio on Kiss fm or Magic fm.

Beyoncé is also in this movie and she’s amazing as usual. A lot of people question her acting abilities but I think she’s a pretty good actress. Cuba Gooding Jr is the main character and all I could think about during this movie was the fact that I saw him play Billy Flynn in Chicago West End and he was brilliant, I also couldn’t help thinking about that meme of him getting arrested.

All in all I could watch this movie every week and not get bored.

Love Simon (2018) – Simon Spier is a 17 year old high school student with a secret… he’s gay he has yet to come out to his family and friends and confides in another closeted student online who’s identity is kept anonymous.

This movie made me laugh, made me cry and made smile. To have a teen movie where the protagonist is gay and is lighthearted and fluffy is something that should’ve happened a long time ago and I hope we get more of it, so many kids could’ve used this growing up so it’s so beautiful that the queer youth have this movie.

Murder Mystery (2019)- Nick and Audrey Spitz celebrate their 15th wedding anniversary with a vacation to Europe, the couple are invited onto a yacht by a rich man they meet on the plane and are framed for the murder of an elderly billionaire.

I absolutely loved this movie it reminded me of the 1985 movie clue. Just when you think you know who the killer is you’re proven wrong, I’m still feeling foolish for not figuring it out at the start.

I’ve been telling everyone that they need to watch this movie because I love any who-dun-it movie, book, tv show etc and I can not give this movie enough praise, absolutely brilliant.

Isn’t It Romantic (2019)- Natalie is an architect who lives in a tiny apartment, is overlooked at work and is often mistaken for an intern. Natalie also hates romantic comedies, she hits her head and is baffled to find out that her life has now become a romantic comedy.

Isn’t it Romantic is such a cute movie, it doesn’t take itself too seriously and is easy to watch, I can see this becoming a movie to cheer me up in the near future.

I like romantic comedies but I don’t typically watch a lot it’s not my favourite genre contrary to the amount I’ve seen this month, but isn’t it romantic is kind of a parody of romantic comedies while being a romantic comedy itself so it’s different.

Always Be My Maybe (2019)- Growing up everybody thought that childhood friends Sasha and Marcus would end up together. The two have an argument and don’t speak for 15 years, they reconnect and old feelings come back despite their current situations.

As much as I enjoyed this movie it’s my least favourite of the bunch, it doesn’t strike as memorable despite the amazing cast, I think it’s because most romantic comedies I enjoy are lighthearted and silly and I thought this movie would be like that but it felt kind of serious with a touch of comedy.

My favourite part of the movie was Keanu Reeves, seeing him playing a pretentious version of himself was the perfect choice and I keep re watching his scenes to give myself a good laugh.

For someone who doesn’t typically watch a lot of romantic comedies I’ve sure watched a good amount this month so perhaps my views are changing… they’re not I just liked the sound of these movies and Netflix and Sky cinema have been providing me with romantic comedies I just couldn’t not watch.

Leave a comment