Movies I’ve watched this year: March

Welcome back to Movies I’ve watch this year!

This month I’ve really been into rom-coms I’m usually more of a thriller kind of girl even though I grew up reading and watching a lot of romance, so I guess I went back to my roots. I’ve watched 4 movies this month – 2/4 were considered romantic comedies.

Here are the movies I’ve watched in March:

No strings attached (2011)- Childhood friends, Emma and Adam begin a no strings attached relationship – which of course turns into more.

I sought out this movie looking for a movie that had a pretty obvious plot but I’d know I’d have a good time watching – no strings attached was the perfect movie for that, I think I almost cried at one part of the movie because of how cute Ashton Kutcher’s character is to Natalie Portman’s. This movie was everything I was looking for, a real feel-good eat ice cream on your period kind of movie and Natalie Portman and Ashton Kutcher may be my newest celebrity crushes.

Us (2019)- A family’s nightmare begins when they stumble across their doppelgängers.

This movie left me shocked. I didn’t see any of the twists until the end so when the credits rolled I was left with my jaw on the floor, I’m excited to see this movie again- the best thing about Jordan Peele movies is that there are so many Easter eggs hidden so it makes watching it the second time even more enjoyable. I’m also excited to see more of Jordan Peele’s movies and it was nice to see a black family as the main cast in a horror movie.

Two night stand (2014)- A one night stand turns into a two night stay when a snow storm traps Megan and Alec in together.

This is also a movie with an obvious ending but it’s still kind of an unconventional love story. It was a lighthearted not too heavy comedy, the movie was an hour and 26 minutes too short.

I really resonated with the character Megan which is always weird to see in a movie but I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Also Kid Cudi acts? What?

The Big Sick (2017)- Based on a true story, this movie follows Kumail Nanjiani a Pakistani-born comedian who falls in love with Emily, a white grad student. Kumail deals with the culture clash and his parent’s expectations while figuring out what’s best for him.

I feel like I was duped in a sense because I thought this was a romantic comedy. (See I try to avoid trailers, they tend to give away the entire plot of the movie) This movie was about family and self discovery which just so happened to have a little romance in it, but with that being said; I feel like this is a really important movie, I’m sure plenty of people have gone through what Kumail went through with his family and the fact that both Kumail and Emily wrote this movie makes it all the more special.

Netflix has an incredible line up of movies coming in April and I am so ready to watch them.

Leave a comment