Body image and style inspirations 

For the longest time I have been uncomfortable with my body and with the way I dress so from the age of 16-early 19 I have been wearing nothing but hoodies and skinny jeans, now that I’m almost twenty I feel comfortable with what I wear often wearing clothes that I didn’t think I’d be able to pull off, I have a lot of style inspirations and would love to incorporate some of their style into my outfits.

 

TLC- I love how girl groups used to coordinate their outfits I feel like they don’t do that now, TLC reminds me of the powerpuff girls their outfits were different and a little strange at times but it worked for them, I especially like the baggy clothes and I feel like I could incorporate it into my style.

 

Tiffani Thiessen- Whether she was playing Kelly Kapowski on Saved By The Bell with bright colours, floral and a lot of overalls or Valerie Malone on Beverly Hills 90210 wearing a casual crop top and jeans, Tiffani was a style icon for a lot of 90’s girls and even though her style was mostly casual it somehow looks like it was specifically made for Tiffani.

 

Lisa Bonet- Lisa’s style in the 90s remind me of Coachella before Coachella, her style can be described as boho hippie something I don’t really resonate with but I can seem myself taking some inspiration and wearing something Lisa Bonet- esque in the summer.

Sidenote- Can we talk about Lenny Kravitz and Lisa Bonet together?

tumblr_o6q11zd6kI1vnu36yo1_400

 

 

8d40fb35c86626f3f8e1c8633bb6c146-e1497462676519.jpg

Lisa Turtle- Lisa wears a lot of blazers and clothes with bright colours whereas I wear a lot of dark clothes but I’m trying to work colourful clothes into what I wear. 

Lisa’s outfits in season 4 were my favourite, it would’ve been weird if they had Lark wear clothes made for a 14 year old when the character is meant to be 17/18 but I loved that as the show went on Lisa’s style evolved I do miss Lisa’s curly hair in season 4 though. 

Alicia Silverstone- Clueless was such a good movie I don’t know anyone who didn’t want Cher’s outfits, I know a lot of people loved the iconic yellow plaid suit but my favourite outfit is the bottom right picture, plaid on plaid. iconic. 

Rihanna- I feel like Rihanna could leave the house in a bin bag and she would still look high fashion, she makes drab outfits look amazing and is always starting fashion trends take her dress from the wild thoughts music video for example:



She made the dress her own and it works for her. 

I always look forward to the met gala to see what Rihanna is going to where, it’s always something that’s out there and in your face but looks great on her, take a look.

To conclude this post- my style inspirations usually come from the 80s/90s anf I have been wearing clothes that would be worn back then, the 90s has made a comeback luckily for me so I don’t have to look far for my outfits. 

What you wear is how you present yourself to the world, especially today, when human contacts are so quick. Fashion is instant language. —Miuccia Prada

Leave a Reply

